Camp I M Possible – A Reflection by Lim Xia Ling

218fa54275e0e31c37b4e5091d9112ba_L

From 17 November to 20 November, Metta School Scout Group participated in Camp Possible at Sarimbun Scout Campsite. As soon as we arrived at the campsite, we were brought to our “A” huts, which was where we would be sleeping for the next 3 days.

Our first activity was to design our name tags. Ms Zaza told us that it was a competition but I did not believe her until the organizer told us. Joeina’s name tag design and mine were selected for the competition. It was like a dream come true. My design won first prize. After the competition, we went around the campsite to play games at the different stalls. The Opening Ceremony of the camp started later that evening. We sat around the campfire and sang songs. We had a fun time! When it was time for bed, I wanted to cry because I missed my parents.

The next morning, we went to the Gardens By The Bay where the most important thing my friends and I learnt was that “Dragonflies like clean water.” So if you see dragonflies near water, it means that the water is clean. We used a tablet and a code reader to scan and find information.

In the afternoon, we went to the Singapore Zoo. We watched 3 different shows but my favourite was the “Animals of the Rainforest” because I learnt about many animals. I did not like the Elephant Show because the elephants “did their big business” in front of us and it was so smelly. Nevertheless, I appreciate all animals because they are living things like us.

After dinner that evening, we had to share our reflections on the day’s activities with the cub scouts and the other extension scouts. Nabilah was brave to stand in front of the group to share her reflections. I hope to have the courage to share my thoughts aloud next time.

On our third day at camp, we went to the Jurong Frog farm. It was my first time feeding the frogs. The male frog is fatter and darker than the female frog. I hope I can have a chance to feed turtles the next time.

Later that morning, our group went to Bollywood Veggies. We planted a plant in a pot. The teacher who taught us to plant was Ms Zaza’s former school teacher. They took pictures together. I used the “cangkul” and “parang” to clear the weeds and plant fruit trees & vegetables. All the fruit trees & vegetables were organic. We then put the weeds into a machine to make natural fertilizers for the farm. We were also given organic banana cake to eat for tea break.

After lunch, our scout group & cubs from Poi Ching Primary School and River Valley Primary School played many different games like hula hoop hockey, sit down soccer, hula hoop chain and finding sweets in a plate on the floor. I did not want to play this last game, but since Ms Zaza was looking, I felt I had no choice but to get my face covered with to get the sweets.

The closing ceremony was held that evening. We all dressed up in different traditional clothes. I wore a pink Baju Kurung and we performed our “Chamak Chalo” dance. I was feeling shy when we danced but when the teachers said we did a good job, I was happy.

Before we went to bed that last night at the Sarimbun Scout Campsite, our scout group had a chit-chat session and light snacks. We all said we enjoyed ourselves and then went to sleep.

The next morning, after breakfast & strike-tent, it was time to go home. It had been a wonderful and happy Camp Possible!

for more articles, click on to http://www.mettaschool.edu.sg/index.php

Leave a comment